News & Events

Latest Government COVID-19 Coronavirus: Travel advice

To assist in reducing the spread of COVID-19, the WA Government has introduced further restrictions on travel within Western Australia. After 11:59pm Tuesday, 31 March 2020, Western Australians will not be allowed to travel outside their designated region.

If you are currently outside of your region, you should return home immediately.

Western Australian intrastate travel is defined as movement through the boundaries of the regions of Western Australia.

These regions are:

  • Perth and Peel (due to their proximity, the Perth and Peel regions will form one region)
  • South West
  • Great Southern
  • Goldfields-Esperance
  • Mid-West
  • Wheatbelt
  • Gascoyne
  • Pilbara
  • Kimberley.

Police have the power to enforce these restrictions, and issue fines of up to $50,000.

Exemptions will apply for:

  • people travelling to work
  • attending medical appointments
  • transporting freight
  • attending school or an educational institution where necessary
  • those who do not have access to groceries or supplies within their region
  • approved compassionate grounds.

National parks remain open at this time, aside from some sites within parks that would normally receive high numbers of visitors. However, visitors must heed the new intrastate travel restrictions.

Access to designated regions, including the Kimberley (including the entire Shire of Ngaanyatjarraku, and parts of the Shire of East Pilbara encompassing the communities of Jigalong, Martu homeland communities and Kiwirrkurra) have additional stronger restrictions in place. This is to help curb the spread of COVID-19 into our very vulnerable communities, which could have catastrophic consequences.

More details can be found here:

As of 31 March 2020 @ 7.47am

Gumala is committed to maintaining and respecting cultural protocol and acknowledges the use of member images throughout the website. If at any time you become aware that an image exists on this website that should be removed for cultural purposes, please contact the office on (08) 9188 4500 as soon as possible